Malaysia Targets At Least A Bronze At ACC BMX 2019


Sepang – Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) is targetting at least a bronze medal at Asian BMX Championships (ACC BMX 2019) to be taken place from 13th to 14th April, at the National Velodrome BMX track in Nilai, Negeri Sembilan.

MNCF president Datuk Abu Samah Abd Wahab stressed the target based on the victories achieved by women’s junior riders, Eddyna Nasuhar Zainal Abidin, and Siti Shahirah Hashim who won a bronze at the Asian BMX Continental Championships, Chainat in Thailand last year.

“I was told that these Terengganu-born riders are very talented and able to pull off a surprise. Due to this factor, MNCF believes that Siti Shahirah will be able to showcase her outstanding performance on home turf,” Abu Samah said during a press conference to announce the lineup who will be competing at the ACC BMX 2019.

Abu Samah acknowledged that Freestyle BMX is not on a par with road cycling and track cycling in Malaysia. However, the country was in a shock when winning the bronze model at the SEA Games 2017, when Noor Quraataina Mamat Nurminda was not given any hope for the win.

At the same time, Abu Samah claimed he is proud of organizing the ACC BMC 2019 and this means Malaysia has become the host country for all competitions offered by the ACC (Asian Cycling Confederation).

“If we get at least a bronze in this event,  it will be a great opportunity for us to ask the National Sports Council (NSC) and the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) for us to be considered to take part in the event at the upcoming Sea Games in the Philippines later this year,” said Abu Samah.

The two-day ACC BMX 2019 will see 353 participants, including 145 foreigners from 10 countries including Japan, China, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Thailand.

Riders to compete at ACC BMX 2019:

Men: Ahmad Syazrin Awang Illah, Ahmad Zuhri Husin, Saniy Syahmi Mohd Safiee, Muhammad Fariez Redzuan, Muhammad Nazrul Zakaria, Syed Irfan Danish Syed Anuar dan Zafrin Shah Sabikin.

Women: Eddyna Nasuhar Zainal Abidin, Siti Shahirah Hashim, Athirah J Sam, Siti Natasha Mohd Basri dan Siti Qamariyana Mat Sali.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here