Ride for Malaysia

30th July 2017, SELANGOR

Held at Sunsuria City, Sepang, Ride for Malaysia was jointly organized by Star Media Group Berhad with Sunsuria City (Sunsuria Berhad) as official partner. It was aimed to unite Malaysians of all ages in celebration of our country’s heritage and accomplishments. The event featured two rides: a 30km ride which started at 7am and took participants from Sunsuria City through Kota Warisan and Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi; and a 5.5km family fun ride which began half an hour later, and included families with young children as well as tandem bike riders, on a simpler scenic route through Sun¬suria City, passing landmarks such as Xiamen University Malaysia.

At 7.30am, the 30km ride was flagged off by the Chairman of Star Media Group, Datuk Fu Ah Kiow and Sunsuria executive chairman, Datuk Ter Leong Yap who were joined by the group managing director of Star Media Group as well as CEO, Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai, last but not least, the executive director and CEO of Sunsuria, Koong Wai Seng.

The inaugural event saw a great turnout of 2,000 cyclists who started assembling well before dawn at Sunsuria City. DJ Brian Chen from SuriaFM and DJ Cynthia Tan from 988 united the crowds to sing the national anthem Negaraku.

Other athletes, celebrities and influencers included national paralympic cyclist, Alvin Lim, Amber Chia, Kavita Sidhu, DJ Dave, Anas Zubedy, RasAngela Wong, Sharizan Borhan, Dr Lyana Khairuddin, former Miss Malaysia Yvonne Lee and Chloe Chen, mixed martial arts fighter Peter Davis, and Suria FM DJs Lin and Tyzo and 988 DJs Jason and Anson.

Public figures who turned up to support the event were CIMB Group Holdings Bhd group CEO and executive director Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Aziz, Naza Corporation Holdings group CEO Datuk Samson Anand George, Enfiniti (M) Sdn Bhd and Enfinity Academy CEO Engku Emran Engku Zainal Abidin, and Organisation for National Empowerment president and Berjaya Corporation Bhd deputy general manager Danni Rais.

Ride for Malaysia not only attracted Malaysians but also envoys and delegates from Argentina, the Czech Republic, the European Union, the Philippines and Spain.

Winners of the Men’s 30km ride

  1. Irwandie Lakasek
  2. Muhammad Farid Razali
  3. Nik Muhammad Azuan

Winners of the Women’s 30km ride 

  1. Nurul Suhada Zainal
  2. Noor Azian Alias
  3. Mariana Mohammad

Photo Gallery


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here