LTdL 2020: See You Next Year


Kuala Lumpur, 17 Feb 2020 – The recent PETRONAS Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) 2020, held for the first time as a UCI ProSeries race, concluded on a high note with organisers Human Voyage promising exciting elements and even tougher challenges next year.

For 10 days, including two days of the specially-organised one-day races, held in conjunction with LTdL’s 25th anniversary, local and global cycling fans and people alike were treated to a world-class action and colourful cycling extravaganza.

Human Voyage Chief Operating Officer, Shahaizereen A Hamid expressed relief over the successful organisation of the race, adding that despite facing various organisational challenges, the 25th edition of the race was conducted in great cycling atmosphere and tradition with minimal hiccups.

It was heartening to see the participation of local communities and people from all walks of life making their ways to venues and routes as the entourage sneaks its way passing through remote areas, town, districts, cities and kampungs from Kota Kinabalu to Langkawi.

Despite the presence of only one World Tour team (NTT Pro Cycling), crowd attendance along the route as well at all start and finish host venues, were extremely encouraging as compared to last year’s with various venue like Kerteh, Taiping, Genting and Penang registering huge number of spectators.

Despite the Covid-19 virus outbreak in China which led to the withdrawal of two Chinese-based teams and the cancellation of many other international sporting events, the Tour took place as scheduled and produced some “firsts” including the historical two-stage wins by Mohd Harrif Saleh, which made him the first Asian rider to win three stages in LTdL’s 25-year history.

Mohd Harrif Saleh of Terengganu Inc TSG Cycling Team and Muhamad Nur Aiman Zariff (Team Sapura Cycling), managed to produce two world-class road racing champions is proof of LTdL’s significant impact on the development of local cycling.

The organisational success of this year’s race was made sweeter with the historical double-stage victory of Malaysian rider Mohd Harrif Saleh of Terengganu Inc-TSG team as well achievement by Malaysian professional outfit Team Sapura Cycling who won the PETRONAS Yellow Jersey and the overall mountains classification.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here